E90 335i with AST coilover review

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• E90 335i with AST coilover review

I am still in love with this car....16 months...some tweaking and I have to say that this car is getting a little more satisfying with each tweak.

March 2007: European delivery. Car broken in in Italy and did a top speed run of 152mph in Germany

June 2007: Took delivery in the US and swapped the OEM run flats for a reasonably light weight wheel tire combo. This got rid of the high frequency harshness but it also made the softness of the OEM sport suspension even more noticable. I start looking for options out there for replacement suspension. This is my first time I'm seriously considering coilovers on any car.

Oct 2007: Still on OEM suspension I finally bring my 335 out to Auto-X. I've been participating at the BMW CCA events since 2001. Shocker....my 325 turned out better times in the morning vs my 335i in the afternoon.....Given the Conti CS3 tires aren't the best of tire of choice. At this point I still coundn't believe how my lightly prepped (sway bars all round + 16" Azenis tires) E46 325 (184hp)was spanking my stock 335i. The most common theme on the 335....understeer and the open diff.

Late 2007: I get a set of AST (prototype) coilovers from Vorhlag. This transforms the car!! OMG this is the way the car should have come from the start. I was very hesitant as to how harsh the ride might bcome but the car rides very well on a daily basis (it passed the spousal approval test with flying colors).